UNESCO World Heritage Sites in India

UNESCO World Heritage Sites

This list contains the places chosen by the UNESCO as heritage sites in India.UNESCO is a specialized agency of  United Nations.UNESCO was created for the conservation and protection of the worlds inheritance of books,works of art and monuments of history and science.As of now there are 36 world Heritage sites in India.28 cultural sites and 8 natural sites and also sites which are on tentative list.

unesco-world-heritage-sites-in-indiaList of 25 cultural Heritage Sites.
Name of the SiteLocationYear of Inscription
Agra FortUttar Pradesh1983
Ajanta CavesMaharashtra1983
Buddhist Monuments at SanchiMadhya Pradesh1989
Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological ParkGujarat2004
Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus)Maharashtra2004
Churches and Convents of GoaGoa1986
Elephanta CavesMaharashtra1987
Ellora CaveMaharashtra1983
Fatehpur SikriUttar Pradesh1986
Great Living Chola TemplesTamil Nadu1987
Group of Monuments at Hampi Karnataka1986
Group of Monuments at MahabalipuramTamil Nadu1984
Group of Monuments at PattadakalKarnataka1987
Hill Forts of RajasthanRajasthan2013
Humayun’s Tomb, Delhi Delhi1993
Khajuraho Group of MonumentsMadhya Pradesh1986
Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh GayaBihar2002
Mountain Railways of India Darjeeling, West Bengal
Nilgiri, Tamil Nadu
Kalka-Shimla, Himachal Pradesh
Qutb Minar and its Monuments, Delhi Delhi1993
Rani-ki-Vav (the Queen’s Stepwell)Gujarat2014
Red Fort ComplexDelhi2007
Rock Shelters of BhimbetkaMadhya Pradesh2003
Sun Temple, KonârakOrissa1984
Taj MahalUttar Pradesh1983
The Jantar Mantar, JaipurRajasthan2010
The Architectural Work of Le CorbusierChandigarh2016
Nalanda Mahavihara (Nalanda University)Bihar2016
List of Seven Natural Heritage Sites 
Name Of the SiteLocationYear of Inscription
Great Himalayan National Park Conservation Area Himachal Pradesh2014
Kaziranga National Park Assam1985
Keoladeo National Park Rajasthan1985
Manas Wildlife Sanctuary Assam1985
Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks Uttarakhand1988
Sundarbans National Park West Bengal1987
Western Ghats Covers Four states
(Kerala ,Karnataka,Tamilnadu and Maharashtra)
Khangchendzonga National ParkSikkim2016

Note: In the case of western ghats a  total of thirty nine properties (including national parks, wildlife sanctuaries and reserve forests) were designated as world heritage sites – twenty in the state of Kerala, ten in Karnataka, five in Tamil Nadu and four in Maharashtra

Also there is a  tentative list of world heritage sites in India,which is already mentioned in the given below link.

Three new sites added in 2016 : Nalanda Mahavihara (Nalanda University) in Bihar ,The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier in Chandigarh and Khangchendzonga National Park in Sikkim.

In 2017, the Walled City of Ahmedabad, founded by Sultan Ahmed Shah in the 15th century, has been declared India’s first World Heritage City.

Indian Monuments and Sites Nominated for UNESCO Heritage sites

error: Alert: Content is protected !!